HomeNewsArticle Display

Senior officer retirements, assignments announced

SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, Ill. -- Air Mobility Command officials have announced the following senior officer retirements and assignments:


Col. Jeffrey W. Ackerson, deputy director of logistics, Headquarters AMC will retire effective Aug. 1.

Col. Randy P. Vieira, deputy director of operations, Headquarters AMC, will retire effective June 1.

Col. Gary W. Minor, deputy comptroller, Headquarters AMC, will retire effective May 1.


Col. Danny Steele, commander, 60th Maintenance Group, Travis AFB, Calif., will replace Colonel Ackerson, effective July.

Lt. Col. Keith D. Frede, student, Air War College, Maxwell AFB, Ala., will replace Colonel Steele, effective July. Colonel Frede has been selected for promotion.

Col. Nicholas A. Sipos, vice commander, 305th Air Mobility Wing, McGuire AFB, N.J., will replace Colonel Vieira, effective July.

Lt. Col. Edward M. Minahan, student, Air War College, Maxwell AFB, will replace Colonel Sipos, effective July. Colonel Minahan has been selected for promotion.

Col. Edwin R. Newcome, chief, Budget Division, Office of the Comptroller, Headquarters AMC, will replace Colonel Minor, effective May.

Lt. Col. Steven L. Groenheim, special assistant to the commander, 437th Airlift Wing, Charleston AFB, S.C., will become deputy commander for special operations, 437th Operations Group, Charleston AFB, effective March. Colonel Groenheim has been selected for promotion.

Lt. Col. Karen H. Stocks, wing chaplain, Dover AFB, Del., will become deputy command chaplain, Headquarters Air Education and Training Command, Randolph AFB, Texas, effective April.

Lt. Col. Linda M. Thomas, chief, Readiness Division, Directorate of Services, Headquarters Pacific Air Forces, Hickam AFB, Hawaii, will become deputy commander, 89th Mission Support Group, Andrews AFB M.D., effective June.