HomeAbout UsAMC History

AMC Office of History

Welcome to the Air Mobility Command Office of History. Please use the following links to find information on U.S. Air Force Mobility Air Forces history, as well as our museum and heritage programs.

Preserve Air Mobility Command's corporate memory by collecting, evaluating, and interpreting information and artifacts which offer historical perspectives for planners and decision-makers.  Establishes policy and administers the command's history, museum and art programs; produces periodic historical reports and studies; and answers historical information requests.  In addition, promotes the education of Airmen and the public on the importance of air mobility heritage through the dissemination and display of historical information and artifacts.

The AMC History and Museums Program supports the Mobility Air Force strategic vision which builds on past achievements and describes the initiatives to address the challenges of a dynamic operating and fiscal environment.  The program primarily supports the MAF Strategic Vectors to execute and sustain rapid global mobility and to develop and care for Airmen and families, but it also supports the MAF's other two vectors to enhance mobility partnerships and prepare mobility forces for tomorrow.

AMC History Staff

Command Historian 
Ellery Wallwork

Command Archivist
Jeffrey Michalke

Senior Historian

John M. Murphy

Staff Historians
Kathy Gunn
Mark Morgan

Writer/Editor/Emblem Program Manager
Kristine Byrnside

Director, Field Heritage Programs
Jeffrey Michalke

Executive Administrator
Stephanie Esaw

Email AMC/HO
Comm (618) 229-7851
DSN 779-7851

Frequently Asked Questions

AMC Base Historians

Dover AFB, DE
 - 436th Airlift Wing
    Douglas Miller

Dyess AFB, TX
 - 317th Airlift Wing
    Brian Smith

Fairchild AFB, WA
 - 92nd Air Refueling Wing

Joint Base Andrews, MD
 - 89th Airlift Wing
    Robert Spiers

Joint Base Charleston, SC
 - 437th Airlift Wing
 - 628th Air Base Wing
    Joshua Mayes

Joint Base Lewis-McChord, WA
- 62d Airlift Wing
    Erin Lasley

Joint Base
McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, NJ

 - 87th Air Base Wing
    James Warrick
 - 305th Air Mobility Wing
    Stuart Lockhart

 - 621st Contingency Response Wing
    Jamien Parks
 - Expeditionary Center
    Thomas Lauria

Joint Base
Pearl Harbor-Hickam, HI

 - 515th Air Mobility Operations Wing
    John Wimberley

Little Rock AFB, AR
 - 19th Airlift Wing
    Jeffrey Pryor

MacDill AFB, FL
 - 6th Air Mobility Wing
    Stephen Ove

McConnell AFB, KS
 - 22nd Air Refueling Wing
    Justin Vergati

Ramstein AB, Germany
 - 521st Air Mobility Operations Wing
    Dr. Andrew Wackerfuss

Scott AFB, IL
 - 375th Air Mobility Wing
    Mark Wilderman

Travis AFB, CA
 - 60th Air Mobility Wing